Preen® One Lawncare™

Preen One Lawncare is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 142.
  • y_2019, m_12, d_14, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_142
  • loc_en_US, sid_PRODUCT0037, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_preen
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.2.0.2
  • getAggregateRating, method:CLOUD, 141ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Preen® One Lawncare™ delivers three essential lawn treatments in one easy step. First, it stops crabgrass and other lawn weeds of its type from growing all season long. It stops the seeds. It gets the seedlings. Second, it tackles and kills 250 of the toughest broadleaf lawn weeds, including dandelions. It kills them down to the roots. And third, it feeds the lawn for 8 weeks. 

Typical weed and feed products don’t prevent crabgrass. Another product is required. Preen One Lawncare does it all! Weed, feed and crabgrass control in one easy spring application.

Plus, Preen One Lawncare can be used on both cool season and warm season grasses!

This three-in-one product kills and controls many of the toughest weeds that can choke a lawn.  Apply Preen One Lawncare in spring or in fall for guaranteed control of 250 types of common, aggressive weeds that plague homeowners coast-to-coast, including: crabgrass, dandelion, annual bluegrass, marestail/horseweed, foxtail, chickweed, clover, creeping Charlie/ground ivy, dock, henbit, nettle, plantain, purslane, prostrate knotweed, cinquefoil, spurge, woodsorrel, and more. Preen One Lawncare also knocks out such regional bullies as: dallisgrass, Virginia buttonweed, dollarweed, cudweed, English daisy, wild garlic, wild onion, wild violet and more.

With Preen One Lawncare, you can spend more time enjoying your lawn and less time working on it. And you’ll love how your lawn will look.

Previously called Preen Lawn StepSaver®

Quick Links

Application

How to Apply

For optimum weed control in lawns, apply Preen® One Lawncare™ to grass when the lawn is wet from rain, dew or sprinkling, as this product needs to stick to the leaves of broadleaf weeds. The lawn should not be watered or disturbed for at least 24 hours after application.

For best results, we recommend that you:

  • apply when no rain is expected in the next 24 to 48 hours – preferably 48 hours,
  • not mow the area to be treated for 3 days before application and 3 days after application,
  • apply to a wet lawn (for example, wet from morning dew, irrigation or recent rain)
  • do not irrigate the treated area after application for 24 to 48 hours – preferably 48 hours.

Apply this product when the wind is calm. Do not apply this product onto desirable plants or shrubs as damage may result. If the product gets onto other plants immediately brush or wash it off the foliage.

Use a drop or rotary spreader designed to apply granular fertilizers. Uniform coverage is essential for best results. It should take approximately 2 to 4 weeks to see the label-listed broadleaf weeds succumb.

When to Apply

Preen One Lawncare can be used either in the spring or fall. Apply the product when grass and weeds are actively growing under adequate soil moisture and favorable temperatures (50°F to 80°F). Do not apply under drought conditions.

In the spring, the ideal time to apply Preen One Lawncare is after the forsythia has bloomed or when the first dandelion flowers appear. For full weed control in lawns in southern areas, make a second application in 6 to 8 weeks for best weed and crabgrass control and for full season fertilization. In the fall, apply Preen One Lawncare when the weather cools and both the grass and weeds are actively growing, generally around Labor Day.

For established lawns, apply Preen One Lawncare when broadleaf weeds are actively growing and prior to germination or tilling of annual grasses. It may be applied as a single application or as a split application in spring, summer or fall.

You can reseed or overseed a lawn treated with Preen One Lawncare 10 weeks after application. 

If the lawn has been seeded recently, wait until after the third mowing before using this product.

Do Not Use

This product is not for use:

  • on dichondra, carpetgrass, colonial bentgrass or turf mixes including desirable clovers, or St. Augustinegrass in Florida
  • within 25 feet of open water including rivers, streams, fish ponds, lakes and marshes,
  • where it can enter or wash into storm drains or drainage ditches
  • where the water table is shallow and soils are permeable, near wells or cisterns.
  • within the drip line of desirable trees and shrubs.

Note: Do not use clippings of treated grass as mulch or in compost piles.

This is not the product label. Always read and follow directions on the product label. Use only as directed.

Weeds Controlled

Available Sizes

Reviews

To review a particular product within this family please choose from one of the available sizes below, or you may continue to write a review for Preen One Lawncare without selecting a size.

Rated 3 out of 5 by from So far it appears to be working. Still early in the lawn process but so far so good. Grass is starting to take on a nice green color to it. This will only lead to one thing. I will have to cut the grass more often. Which is never good
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I received this from TryIt a good while back, but the the weather didn't permit me to use it until now. I like the idea of having all three products in one package, and spread it on my lawn. It will take a while to see how effective it is, but I will follow up as I watch the clean up of the weeds and the promotion of new grass growth.
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from At a 3, for now Applied to lawn a week or so ago and so far haven't seen any difference. Hopefully it will start working soon. Just make sure to follow directions. It kills several types of weeds, as said on package.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just right! Just what the doctor ordered! I need something to stop these crazy weeds without killing all my grass at the same time. Thank you for this product! Say goodbye to those dandelions now! Can’t wait to get more
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I received this about a month ago great product grass is already turning green will definitely buy again kills weeds within days greener grass within a week or so plus grass is thicker will use again next year
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Green, Green Lawn! Easy to spread without clogging the spreader. Does a great job greening up the lawn after a long winter! This type of bag size makes it very easy to handle while loading into your spreader for distribution to your lawn.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use The product was easy to apply. I did not put it down as quickly as I wanted to. It is a little late in the season. Therefore I am not able to give my results. The product covered a large area,but I will need two more bags to do the backyard.
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I applied this to my yard about a month ago and I am already satisfied with this product. It’s better than I expected. It was easy to apply and I won’t need to again this season. It not only kills weeds (over 200 kinds, dandelions too), it prevents unwanted grass from growing and also feeds my lawn. It is a great product.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I applied this to my yard about a month ago and I am already satisfied with this product. It’s better than I expected. It was easy to apply, it has easy to follow directions and I won’t need to apply again this season. It not only kills weeds (over 200 kinds, dandelions too), it prevents unwanted grass from growing and also feeds my lawn. It is a great product.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Starting to notice some results This is a bit different of a process than I’m used to with my lawn care, the application timing is a lot later than previous treatments. I like to get a good start on lawn care so using this so much later made me a bit uneasy, applying it while the weeds are growing as directed doesn’t leave much wiggle room for adjustments if anything goes wrong- not impossible but not ideal or easy when your in ths thick of it. I am definitely starting to notice how well the lawn likes the food, the weeds are less as well. I like the ease of application, once you get timing and conditions from mother nature its a breeze. The 3 in one benefits are nice and while it has improved my lawn, it doesn’t give me the full effects Id prefer given the price and amount product needed. On top of time and energy still needed to put into seedig and the additional applications it isnt the best product for my needs. I received a free sample to review and since the area the bag covered did have results it’s not a dud- but not enough for me to buy more to adequately cover my entire lawn for the season.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to spread, so far so good I received this product free, in exchange for my unbiased opinions. It spread easily, it covered a large area. I am starting to see grass where, I put it down at. The brand is very trustworthy, I have a great feeling my lawn will, continue to grow and thrive.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to Use Easy to apply and grass looks healthy. While there are still some unwanted weeds growing it is not as near as bad as before. It may take a little while longer for the weeds to die out. I am satisfied so far especially with the easy application.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great results! Easy to set up spreader and apply to lawn. Saw results within days of weed control and dandelions dying. Would try other Preen products as this one created desired results. Also had good growth and thicker lawn.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the lawn This is a great product that is perfect for my lawn. It is great for my gardening needs. It works great for getting my lawn to come back to life after his past harsh winter. I have had it down for about 2-3 weeks and my lawn is looking new.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Green I put the Preen One Lawncare product down about 10 days ago. It's been cold and rainy in Cleveland, however there is a noticeable difference between what I did and what I did not do. I only did half the lawn because of my dogs. I will do the other half in about a week. But the half that is done is definitely greener than what was not done.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Number one! This is a great product what provided instant results. It really kicked my lawn into gear and got rid of some pesky weeds while making everything green! I would highly recommend this if you want the best lawn on your street!
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for my lawn I’ve had this lawn care product for about two weeks . I am happy with results so far. My lawn get weeds and lots of dandelions which I don’t like and so far I haven’t seen any coming up . This lawn care is actually really easy to spread all over your yard . Seems to be a product we will continue to use . The bag is pretty good size so there’s plenty there if I need to put some more around the lawn .
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Waiting to see The product came packaged well and it was a pleasure spreading via my spreader. I am uncertain how long it takes to make an impact as I have not seen noticeable results in the 7-10 days since I have put it down. I will work to provide an update as more time passes
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good It has not been that long since putting this down on the lawn, but so far there are no weeds of any kind other than the occasional clover here or there, and the grass is coming in bright, strong, and green. I usually avoid using a granular product until mid year because i usually don't find this format effective for the first week and feed of spring, but so far this product has done much better than I expected and is much easier to apply than a liquid product.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lawn Feed From what I understand this is an exceptional lawn feed product. Unfortunately it is still snowing at times in western PA and I have not been able to use it as of yet. Here's to hoping the whether breaks shortly.
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looking Good! We still had snow on the ground here in the Northeast until April. I just finished my application last weekend. Instructions are clear, application was easy using the recommended broadcast spreader settings and coverage was as advertised. Single bag covered just under 1/4 of an acre lot. The results: grass was starting to green up within 72 hours, only time will tell how the crabgrass and weed prevention works out.
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I used this on my lawn about 6 weeks ago and have already started to see results. Was super easy to apply, not very messy, and was easy to take care of once applied, just follow the directions. Going to get more!
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy lawn weed control Got this few weeks ago haven't had a chance to apply it to my grass due to snow and rain almost every other day. It was simple to apply easy to see the blue and white particles spread and the instruction where straight to point on how to use.
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great size pellets I like the over all shape of this weed and feed is is very easy to work with and the color lets you know what spots you have already done. In my opinion this did great for feeding my lawn but was a little lacking on weed control. Will give it a little more time and see if any updates.
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick results I recently purchased and had the opportunity to apply this to my lawn. It's early in the season, but seems to be working great. Grass is green and seems to be controlling weeds very well. I've used other Preen products over the years and is very trusted.
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to spread I put this on my lawn about two weeks ago. It was very easy to spread. My lawn has already started to Green up a lot more. And I have found no weeds on my lawn at all. I would definitely recommend this product to family and friends.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful product I always buy preen products for my flower beds so buying preen for my lawn was a no brainer. I was very excited and impressed how there is 3 different lawn cares in one product which makes it less work for me. It stops crab grass, kills weeds and feeds the lawn all in one application. It’s always so hard to find the time to do all the different steps to my lawn so this makes it very simplified. This product makes taking care of my lawn so much more easier.  
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ready for spring. I just used this Preen One Lawncare so when it does work I'll have to report back. Its too early to say after a week. Not to mention with this crazy weather it's hard to tell what's happening. What I can say is it was easy to spread in my yard. I made sure to use it around all of the troubled areas around my property. I do have high hopes for this. I've used Preen One before and haven't been disappointed.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love all in one products! It is so difficult to keep our yard free of weeds and keep it fertilized and keep that cycle going. Preen One helps because it has fertilizer and weed control in one application that lasts for months. We followed directions and applied. We can see the weeds dying already.
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to apply! I am so glad to have found this stuff!! Every year I look at my yard in disgust! It always looks great after I cut it but shortly after, the dandelions and crabgrass pop back up like, well, weeds!! I have been wanting to try different products but was afraid I would kill the grass too. This stuff however was sooo easy to apply and I now have a weed free yard!! No more dandelions, no more weeds! My yard is beautiful!! Best part? I don't even have to apply more! Just once and done!! Now to sit back and relax in my great yard!!
Date published: 2018-04-05
  • y_2019, m_12, d_14, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_142
  • loc_en_US, sid_PRODUCT0037, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_preen
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.2.0.2
  • getReviews, method:CLOUD, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The PDF documents on this page may require the Adobe Reader to be viewed.
Get Acrobat Reader web logo
For Customer Service Call 1-800-233-1067 or Email Us